‚ÄčThe Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program is a flexible program that provides communites with resources to address a wide range of unique community development needs. Beginning in 1974, the CDBG program is one of the longest continuously run programs at U.S. Dept. of Housing & Urban Development (HUD). The CDBG program provides annual grants on a formula basis to 1209 general units of local government and States.

The CDBG program works to ensure decent affordable housing, to provide services to the most vulnerable in our communities, and to create jobs through the expansion and retention of businesses. CDBG is an important tool for helping local governments tackle serious challenges facing their communities. The CDBG program has made a difference in the lives of millions of people and their communities across the Nation.

The County of Blair receives annual CDBG allocations on the behalf of sixteen non-entitlement municipalities: six(6) Boroughs (Bellwood, Duncansville, Martinsburg, Newry, Roaring Spring, and Williamsburg) and ten (10) Townships (Allegheny, Catharine, Freedom, Huston, Juniata, North Woodbury, Snyder, Taylor, Tyrone and Woodbury). And six entitlement municipalities: two (2) Boroughs (Hollidaysburg & Tyrone) and four (4) Townships (Antis, Blair, Greenfield and Frankstown).