Local Emergency Planning Committee



The Blair County Local Emergency Planning Committee is responsible for the emergency planning of facilities within the county which use, store or manufacture hazardous materials and are regulated under the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA) of 1986 and the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA). This group of community leaders conduct a business meeting on the first Thursday of every even month at the Trolley Works conference 
room at 3316 Fifth Ave., Altoona, PA beginning at 8:00am. We welcome community input during our meetings and encourage you or your organization to be represented on our committee.  Contact (814) 940-5901 or questions or more information.f

L.E.P.C. Leadership

L.E.P.C. Chairperson - Tim Rea 

Vice Chairperson - Jeff Blake

Secretary - Cris Edmundson

L.E.P.C. Members

Jennifer Fordick, Albemarle Corporation

Ben Grazier, Albermarle Corporation

Buss Wilson, Albemarle Corporation

Tim Hileman, City of Altoona Fire Dept.

Mike Tofano, City of Altoona Fire Dept.

Mike Milliron, Altoona City Authority

Bob Gutshall, Altoona Planning Committee

Joe Cox III, Altoona City Police

Gary Watters, AMED

Don Gallice, AMTRAN

Gary Williams, AMTRAN

Janice Hartkorn, Appvion

Matthew Kinter, Appvion

Drew McGhee, Blair County ARES/RACES

Mike Wall, Blair County ARES/RACES

Tom Cooney, Jr., Blair County ARES/RACES​

Mark Taylor, Blair County 911/EMA

Helen Schmitt, Blair County Administrator

Darrell Shildt, Blair County CERT

Ted Beam, Blair County Commissioner

Derek Carlins, Blair County EMA

Cris Fredrickson, Blair County EMA

Kate Rimbeck, Blair County EMA

Jim Hudack, Blair County Dept of Social Services

Jamie Klink, Blair County Planning

Dave McFarland, Blair County Planning

James Ott, Blair County Sheriff

George Palmer, III, Center for Independent Living

Ed Dobson, Community Specialist

Cristine Edmundson, Community Specialist

Frank Shields, Community Specialist

Renny Santone, Community Specialist

Debra Thurheimer, Garvey Manor

Ken Doyle, Garvey Manor

Sam Ebersole, Garvey Manor & Our Lady of Alleghenies

John Rea, Innovative Technologies, Inc.

Timothy Rea, Innovative Technologies, Inc.

Randy Santone, Innovative Technologies, Inc.

Rodney Shultz, Kunzler

Matt Lightner, Lightner Electronics

Jeff Blake, Logan Township LEMC

Sergeant Terry Walter, Logan Township Police

Joe Adams, McLanahan Corporation

Mandy Michelone, Mountain Research, LLC

Paul Kagarise, Nason Hospital

Ron Grata, Nason Hospital

Karen Hamel, New Pig

Gene Sajeski, PEMA Central Area

Jayme Houck, Red Cross

Lori Driscoll, Southern Alleghenies EMS

Dave Gonos, Sheetz, Inc.

Bob Winters, US Dept of Homeland Security

Kim Corle, UPMC Altoona

Mike Kelly, VanZandt VA Hospital

Becky Long, VanZandt VA Hospital

Justin LaMantia, Veeder-Root

Stefan Long, Veeder-Root

Jody Gill, WTAJ-TV




615 4th St.
Altoona, PA 16602

Phone: 814-940-5900

Fax: 814-940-5907

Emergency: Dial 911


After-Hours 814-940-5910