

c/o Blair County Controller, 423 Allegheny St., Ste 141, Hollidaysburg, PA 16648

Blair County Salary Board Meeting of December 15, 2021 2:00 p.m. In Commissioners' Public Meeting Room

Board Members in Attendance:

Commissioner Bruce Erb, Commissioner Laura Burke, Controller A.C. Stickel, Commissioner Amy Webster

Board Members not in Attendance:

NONE

Quorum: Present

Non-Board Members in Attendance: President Judge Elizabeth Doyle¹, Treasurer James Carothers², DeAnna Heichel, Nicole Hemminger, James Hudack, Cathy Lythgoe, Nicole Smith, Katherine Swigart

Media in Attendance: Kay Stephens, Altoona

Mirror

Call to Order: Commissioner Erb called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.

The roll was called by Tracy Miller.

Call for Public Comment: Commissioner Erb called for public comment on Salary Board items. There was no comment at this time.

Approval of Minutes: A motion was made by Controller Stickel and seconded by Commissioner Webster that the minutes from the December 1, 2021 meeting be approved. The motion was unanimously carried.

Court Administration

Requested by President Judge Elizabeth A. Doyle

<u>Custody Processor</u> Judge Doyle moved to re-create this position. This position is UMWA-Court, Non-Exempt (Hourly). Full-Time at 35 hours per week with an hourly rate of \$10.5063, \$735.44 estimated bi-weekly, \$19,121.47 estimated annually. The rate has been approved by the union. This vacancy is due to the termination of Renee Dey effective 12/03/2021. Controller Stickel seconded the motion and it was unanimously carried.

¹ The Judge is a voting member of the board for items in that office.

² The Treasurer is a voting member of the board for items in that office.

Treasurer

Requested by James Carothers, Treasurer

Temporary Department Assistant Treasurer Carothers moved to re-create this position and set a rate. This position has not been graded, but would likely fall into a classification calling for the proposed rate. This position is Non-Union, Non-Exempt (Hourly). Part-Time at an average of 19 hours per week with an hourly rate of \$11.03, \$419.14 estimated bi-weekly, \$10,897.64 estimated annually. This vacancy is due to Renae Metz transferring to another position effective 12/20/2021. Commissioner Erb seconded the motion and it was unanimously carried.

Assessment

Requested by DeAnna Heichel, Chief Assessor

<u>Board of Assessment Appeals Members</u> Commissioner Burke moved to re-create three (3) positions. These positions are Non-Union, Non-Exempt (Hourly). Part-Time (Non-Benefit Eligible). The Per-Diem Rate for these positions is \$150/Full Day and \$75.00/Half Day. These vacancies are due to the existing two-year terms for Jan Andrews, Stephen Gerhart, and Frank Wiley expiring December 31, 2021. Commissioner Webster seconded the motion and it was unanimously carried.

Children, Youth and Families

Requested by Commissioner Laura Burke

Program Specialist Commissioner Burke moved to extend Diane Litzinger's temporary rate for out-of-class duties beyond the current expiration date of paycheck dated December 16, 2021 to January 28, 2022. This position is Non-Union, Exempt (Salary), Full-Time at 35 hours per week. Diane has been covering the fiscal unit supervision duties since the 3/17/2021 retirement of Amy Wertz. She was previously awarded 5% out-of-class pay for 13 pay periods at the June 2nd Salary Board Meeting, and the increase began on June 5, 2021. The 5% out-of-class pay would be an additional \$103.60/bi-weekly. Diane continues to perform out-of-class duties at her normal pay rate. The new Fiscal Operations Officer begins 12/20/2021. Commissioner Erb seconded the motion and it was unanimously carried.

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 2:15 p.m.

The Salary Board Reorganizational Meeting will be held on January 3, 2022 @ 10:30 a.m. In Commissioners' Public Meeting Room.

The next Regular Salary Board Meeting will be held on January 5, 2022 @ 10:30 a.m. In Commissioners' Public Meeting Room.

Respectfully Submitted,

Mag M. Start Start

August C. Stickel IV

Secretary

Meeting of December 15, 2021 continued. . .